In the Beginning

Genesis 1:1 In the beginning God created the heaven and the earth.

8750158076_78c5ee1bbf_o

On the first day of spring my oldest son turned thirty-three years old. That is really hard to believe. It seems like such a short time ago that I held my newborn son in my arms and marveled  at how beautiful he was. He seemed so aware to me, as if the veil of forgetfulness still hadn’t been completely draped across his mind. I watched his eyes moving under his eyelids while he slept. He laughed. A little while later he cried, and I wondered what he was dreaming about. Who had been his friends while he resided with God in the heavens? What talents and skills did he bring with him to help him on his mortal journey?  What assignments had he accepted from his Heavenly Father that he would need to accomplish? I felt an overwhelming sense of responsibility. This tiny child had been given to me in trust, and I wanted to be a good mother to him.
Well, the years rolled by, and I did my best to love him, teach him right from wrong, and guide him.  I watched him grow up to be a good man, a kind and patient husband and father, and someone who has compassion for others and lives his life in a way that will serve and help them. I am so very proud of him, but I can take only a small credit for how he turned out. He came to earth with those qualities.

“Our birth is but a sleep and a forgetting:
The Soul that rises with us, our life’s Star,
Hath had elsewhere its setting,
And cometh from afar:
Not in entire forgetfulness,
And not in utter nakedness,
But trailing clouds of glory do we come
From God, who is our home.” – William Henry Wordsworth
(from INTIMATIONS OF IMMORTALITY FROM RECOLLECTIONS OF EARLY CHILDHOOD)

Leave a comment